Vacation

This year I skipped the 4th of July because we spent our whole day flying. We went to Wisconsin and went to my aunt’s wedding reception and she had it on the boat and we all rode on Lake Michigan around Milwaukee. I got to see all my cousins except for two of them because they were not invited and I saw all my aunts and uncle and his girlfriend but I didn’t get to see my schizophrenic aunt. I wanted to go visit her but I didn’t get the chance to, I didn’t get to see her kids either or meet their kids. Right when we landed there, my parents met up with us and my husband and my mom claimed our luggage and Dad and I went to get the car I rented and the first thing is they didn’t have a car I picked so I ended up with a Ford Focus. That was one crazy thing on our trip so far. Then we headed straight to the party and my dad had low blood sugar so he started to act stupid so my mom told him on the phone to look at the invitation, she has a list of places where we can park and then she said to me this is why she always does things early because he always does things like this and this is why she wanted to leave the airport so soon because of things like this. He just doesn’t think when he gets low blood sugar. Then we found a place to park and we got changed in the car and we headed to a nearby pub where we all met and I got to see my mom’s cousins but none of their kids were there because they were all grown and also not invited. I even saw my Mom’s cousin named Diane and I had only met her once when I was nearly three when Mom and I went to her wedding. I don’t remember her but I vaguely remember the wedding. I only remember walking into a church and then sitting in a pew and I was bore and anxious because of too many people and then I was brought into a room with full of kids and this one boy had a box of those circus Animal Crackers and those were my favorite then and he gave me one of his and I remember being told by the adults to say thank you.

Some other crazy things happened on our trip. Our hotel we stayed at was not very clean because they never cleaned the walls and the internet wifi was bad because it kept not working off and on because it couldn’t handle too many guests using it at once so it would time out and not work. Then on Sunday my husband’s leg gave out so he fell flat on his face and broke his glasses and his lens would fall out and he would have to put it back in. The next day we went to The Public Museum and my husband discovered his lens came out so no wonder everything was blurry and I told him to keep one eye closed so he can only see through his one lens he still had and he said that didn’t work because he had already tried it. So we head to a nearest eye place and it was at the Bayshore shopping mall, it’s indoor and an outdoor mall. Then we picked them up the next day around four PM and on Thursday our rental car broke down because the transmission went out so it said transmission failure, service now and I had a panic attack because I didn’t know the area well so I didn’t know where an auto shop was and this was a rental car and I didn’t know the number to call the place where I rented it from but my husband saved me because he knew what to do and he called the number for me he found in the glove box and then we had to wait two hours for them to bring us another car and take the other car away and three different people told him “weird” when he told them the problem. It was a 2014 car. We were given a 2014 Toyota Camry and it said maint. req but we only had two days left of our trip so it didn’t matter. I just hoped it would last us until Saturday and not break down again. I forgot to tell the lady that light is on when I turned it in yesterday when we got to the airport to fly home. We also didn’t have room to fit the rest of the Walgreen diapers in our suitcases or backpacks so my husband threw them out while I was turning in the car. We had also arrived too early because there was no line to check in and security wasn’t long a all so we had to wait three hours before take off and our son spent his whole time in the play area. Our daughter played in there too. We also had to leave behind some food because we didn’t have room for it all. We stayed with my aunt and uncle for the rest of the week because they offered us to stay with them. They thought it was ridiculous for us to pay for a hotel when they had room for us to stay. They didn’t have room at first because my uncle’s brother was in town and then he left. Sadly my kids didn’t get to see any fireflies but my husband did for the first time and it was on Friday night before we left to go home. I saw them too and that was my first time also on that trip even though I had seen them as a little girl when I was last there. Then when we flew home, I was tired so I went to bed after I did some cleaning and took care of the kids and my husband gave our son a shower and sent him to bed with me and I heard the fireworks but I didn’t go watch them because I was tired. Then the next day my husband told me a story about our neighbors across the street shooting off illegal fireworks so he called the police because they nearly burnt our house down because they were shooting them near our oak tree that hangs over the road. Another crazy thing about our trip is on Friday some car pulls in front of me so I slam on my breaks and he slams on his and waves at me to go ahead so I keep on driving. My husband said we nearly got in an accident. Good thing I was watching the road or else I may have driven into him when he pulled into my lane, was about to but I slammed on my breaks to avoid it. But we still had fun on the trip and I wished I would have stayed longer but sadly we had to leave. I even tried to get tickets to fly home for the 5th but I couldn’t find any for this day and also it would have been more expensive if we stayed a day longer. When we landed in Chicago, we didn’t even have time to look in any shops and we didn’t have time to put my son’s shoes on so he could ride those flat things so people could get to their flight faster. It was getting off the plane and then going straight to the other gate to catch our flight and they were already boarding.

We went to the Milwaukee Zoo, The Public Museum, went to my aunt and uncle’s house in Grafton for some other party they were doing, my mom’s oldest sister had a family gathering at her house so we went there and that is where we stayed for the rest of the week, we went to the Jelly Belly factory where they store all their Jelly Bellies and ship them out to places all over the world and country and where they ship out orders from online people place, we also went to Old World Wisconsin. My son also played in the fountain at Bayshore Mall twice and we visited my grandparents twice and we did mom generation pictures. My grandma, my mother, me and our daughter. My mom did it when I was a baby so there is a baby picture of me on her lap and she is sitting between her mother and grandmother which would be my grandmother and great grandmother who passed away in 2002.

We also lucked out on our trip because it was nice and cool there and that was unusual weather for them according to my aunt we stayed with. But on Friday it was finally hot out so I think their Wisconsin weather was finally coming. My aunt and uncle told us great stories about their lives such as when their transmission went out so they would drive for ten minutes and having to pull over and wait for the transmission to cool down and drive it again for another ten minutes and it took them eight hours to get back to Milwaukee when they were only an hour and a half from home when their transmission went out and it cost them $689 1971 dollars to get it fixed and that was three of their paychecks so they had to put it on credit and pay it over time. There was another story my aunt told and it was about how things would always go wrong whenever her husband was out of town for business and one time she had a crow in her fireplace so she lit a fire thinking the smoke will make it leave her chimney but instead it suffocated from the smoke so he fell into the fire and burned. My aunt did feel bad for it and my oldest cousin told his father when he got back “Mom cooked a crow for dinner” and one time she had a chipmunk in her home and in their current home, she had wasps coming out of her fireplace so she made a fire in there and it was July and they had built a nest in their chimney because it smelled like paper burning when she had a fire going so all these wasps came out into her living room so she spent the next five hours swatting them and when her husband returned, he asked her if she did anything interesting so she pointed to the fire place mantel piece and said “That” and had 92 dead wasps laying there where she stuck them. She had them all in a row. My aunt had great stories to tel and she and her husband told us a story about when Wisconsin passed a new law to protect the lake they lived on so everyone had to get rid of their septic tanks and they had to pay to get their sewer hooked up to the city and to pay someone to crush their septic tank so they wouldn’t be able to use it. It was to be sure they wouldn’t be able to use it and say they have theirs hooked up to the city and still continue using their septic tank so that was why they had everyone get theirs crushed. It cost them a couple thousand to crush it and $25,000 to get their sewer line hooked up but they were able to pay it off and I said they must be rich if they could afford it.

I would like to go back and visit again some time but it’s so expensive and I only get one week of vacation a year and my husband said I can always go back by myself but everyone there liked seeing my kids and my aunt and uncle really enjoyed having them around and thought they were sweet kids and well behaved. They think we do a good job with them. I used our tax return money for this trip. My husband thought we should do London next time but I told him “Do you know how expensive it is to fly there? It would be at least about $1200 per person and besides his feet wouldn’t be able to handle it unless we can rent a wheelchair. It would take us a few years to save from tax return and that is if we don’t have to pay anything for house maintenance and if nothing else goes wrong like needing a new phone or fixing my car and loaning out money. I have actually looked at ticket prices online to see how much it would cost to fly there and it was about that much the cheapest. This is another reason to not have anymore kids. The more kids you have, the more expensive it is to fly, more kids, more tickets, more suitcases and that means more money to pay to check on luggage and needing to rent a bigger car and that costs more. I am too cheap to have more but my aunt and uncle taught me a new word to use because they don’t like me calling myself cheap so the new word is budget conscious. But then they agreed I am cheap when my husband told them a story about the time I chewed him out for spending a dollar on a bag of chips and he had to hear about it for three months. I told him that was because we had to save money because we were going to have a baby so we had to save up for it and get ready.

I also love my husband’s new sleep apnea machine. He doesn’t see any difference when he uses it but he noticed how much I love it. It keeps him from snoring and the machine is real quiet. Only thing I hear is the breathing and air blowing. I was able to sleep in the same room as him. Only time I woke up was when he would take it off in his sleep so his snoring would wake me up.

Only thing we left behind on accident was my husband’s coat but hopefully my parents remembered to stop by and get it.

Leave a Reply

