That wasn’t so bad

My mom told me about a church enrolling kids for preschool and I decided to stop by and check it out and I saw it goes from grades preschool to 8th grade. I was a nervous wreck when I went there because I felt nervous all of a sudden and I started to have anxiety. I go inside anyway and not one staff person asks me if they can help me. That felt weird because I am so used to employees asking me if they can help me but this time they didn’t. They acted like I wasn’t even there. I walked in and out of the building and I felt like coming home crying for failing as a parent because I was so nervous to speak and didn’t know what to say. I think of what to say and I go in the office after someone was done talking in there and it was one woman alone behind the counter. I say “I hear there was a school around here enrolling students, is this the place?” and she said it was and asked how old my kid is and I said “three” and she handed me an application and a brochure. I asked for costs and she shows me and I asked if there were any requirements and she said there weren’t and then she said “potty trained.”
Then I leave and I felt so much better and it wasn’t so bad. Why do I always need to be so nervous in new situations? I am the same way with phones too.

My mom helped me fill it out because I was having troubles with it and she also helped me fill out a form about my son, it was just a list of medical questions because she shows a delay in his language and speech. I wasn’t sure how to interpret the questions and I had my husband with us because I didn’t know everything about his family history. Plus I don’t trust myself with interpreting the questions because of my literal mind and I didn’t want to mess it up. Then she mailed it off for me with the other stuff she mailed.

Leave a Reply

