Busy Morning

I woke up around ten this morning and I spent a little bit of time on the computer and I fed my son and put him in his play pen. I showered and rinsed my diapers out again in the tub as I did. Then I put them back in the bucket and put the lid back on. Then I came out and changed him and he leaked badly and got his play yard bottom all wet. So I had to change him and throw his sleeper in the hamper and I used a dirty hand towel and got it wet and wiped his play yard.

Then I got dressed and got him dressed too and I went and got quarters so I can wash my diapers. My son threw a fit when I had to take two cars from him and put them back with the other toys the bank owns to keep kids busy while the parents are there. I had to scoop him off the floor and carry him out and then I went to the supermarket to get bus passes. He just wanted to run around and I wouldn’t let him so he threw a fit again. It distracted me so I got confused and thought it was the end of June all of a sudden so I thought the store ran out of July passes. I nearly got refunded until the store manager said it was the end of May and I said I did need two June bus passes. So I got my bus passes after all and I got my cookie I wanted. It had no price on it so the lady behind the counter had to get the manager and she gave my son a  free cookie because she said that is what they give all kids. At least it quieted him down and he stopped fussing in the store and crying.

Then I was so glad to be home and I shared part of my cookie with him but he didn’t seem to like it so he threw it on the floor and I ate the rest. He then fell asleep in his chair and I got peace during Titanic and I washed my diapers and his. His diaper champ wasn’t even full yet but since I am washing mine, I will mind as well wash his too so I wouldn’t have to wash his diapers sooner.  

I am reminded why I never want to take my son to the store with me alone because I can’t leave if he starts to fuss and cry and I can’t leave him out in the car alone with the windows partly down because it isn’t the 90’s anymore where it was acceptable and legal. I have memories of being left alone in the car in the early 90’s and late 80’s. I can remember waking up in my car seat and being alone and I would just stare around. Now you can’t do that anymore. But even back then some people thought it was wrong to leave your kids alone in the car and now we have a law about it. It doesn’t bother me. I just blame it on stupid people who didn’t use common sense so they would leave their kids out in the car for a long long time or leave them dying in their hot car. I understand it’s an accident sometimes and I used to judge all parents when it would happen until I read this one Washington Post article. Now I can see how a parent can truly forget to take their kid out of the car and why they would leave them in the car all day long. Luckily it has never happened to me yet but I have had a close call where I got out of the car and locked it and less than five seconds later my mother told me I locked my new son in. Then she laughed about it and so did I. If I were alone, I may have been in the house and then realize where is my son and then remember he is out in the cold car. He was a week old then so I was not used to getting out of the car and having to go in the back seat. but I adjusted quick. Another time my husband and I were almost out the door and we realized we didn’t have our son with so I grabbed his infant carrier with him in it. Imagine if we were on the road and then we remembered our son was not with us. I would have turned the car around and gone back to get him. I know parents have accidentally left their little ones home alone because some confessed it at Babycenter. I will never say “it won’t happen to me” because I will never know. Instead I say, “I hope it won’t happen to me.” Never say never.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

